Author: Jolanta Skwaradowska     Published At: 18.10.2021

Prof. Ryszard Białecki – recipient of the Silesian Science Award

The winners of the third edition of the Silesian Scientific Awards 2021 have been announced. Among the awardees there is Prof. Ryszard Białecki, PhD, a corresponding member of the Polish Academy of Sciences, co-coordinator of the Biomechanics sub-area of Priority Research Area 1. In the category of doctoral students, the winner was Alaksandra Nyga, representing Priority Research Area 3: Materials of the Future.

40 people were nominated for the Silesian Science Award granted within the framework of the Silesian Science Festival, out of which 8 people in the employee category and one in the PhD student category were awarded. The awardees were selected by the chapter headed this year by Prof. Marek Pawełczyk, Vice Rector for Science and Development of the Silesian University of Technology.

Two scientists from the Silesian University of Technology are among the  awarded. The winner of the Silesian Scientific Award 2021 in the employee category is Professor Ryszard Białecki, PhD, while the award founded by the Upper Silesian and Zagłębie Metropolis (Metropolis GZM) in the doctoral student category was awarded to Aleksandra Nyga.

The Silesian Science Award, presented as part of the Silesian Science Festival KATOWICE, is granted to researchers and artists who significantly contribute to the development of science and present outstanding artistic achievements as well as promote Silesian science on the national and international arena. It can be awarded for overall achievements or for achievements within 2 years preceding the year of the award presentation.

The award is a prestigious award granted by all universities co-organizing the Silesian Science Festival. Each university selects candidates from among employees and doctoral students according to its own internal procedure, and the winners are selected by the Award Committee that consists of representatives of universities co-organizing the Silesian Science Festival.

Retransmission of the Opening Gala of the 5th Silesian Science Festival is available on YouTube. More information can be found on the website: Inauguration of the 5th SSF and presentation of the Silesian Science Awards 2021 | Silesian Science Festival KATOWICE ( en/about-the-award)

The Silesian Science Festival is organized by: University of Silesia in w Katowice (leader and organiser of the project), Katowice City (the host city of the event), Marshal Office of the Silesia Voivodeship and the Upper Silesian and Zagłębie Metropolis  (Metropolis GZM) (coorganisers), and also: Silesian University of Technology, Medical University of Silesia, Jan Dlugosz University in Częstochowa, Częstochowa University of Technology, University of Economics in Katowice, Jerzy Kukuczka Academy of Physical Education in Katowice, University of Bielsko-Biała, Academy of Fine Arts in Katowice. The festival's gold sponsor is ING Bank Śląski S.A. The bronze sponsor of the festival are: PZU SA, Operator, GAZ-SYSTEM S.A., Deloitte Poland Foundation and Katowice Special Economic Zone. Partner – National Agency of Erasmus+ Programme and European Solidarity Corps, Górnośląskie Przedsiębiorstwo Wodociągów S.A., Państwowe Gospodarstwo Wodne Wody Polskie, Zarząd Transportu Metropolitalnego, Scientific Information Center and Academic Library  (CINiBA), Bajka Pana Kleksa, Bawialnia GiliGili, Bawialnia BombelCafe, Fundacja W TO MI GRAJ, Teatr Lufcik na Korbkę, Teatr TRIP, Regional Volunteer Centre in Katowice and Rekopol S.A.

The Silesian Science Festival KATOWICE is under the honorary patronage of Przemysław Czarnek - Minister of Education and Science, prof. Piotr Gliński - Minister of Culture, National Heritage and Sport, Michał Kurtyka - Minister of Climate and Environment, Ministry of Economic Development and Technology, prof. Jerzy Duszyński - President of Polish  Academy of Science, the National Science Centre, the National Centre for Research and Development, the Polish Space Agency, the Patent Office of the Republic of Poland, Jakub Chełstowski - Marshal of Silesian Voivodeship, Kazimierz Karolczak - Chair of  Metropolis GZM, Marcin Krupa -  Mayor of the City of Katowice, Arkadiusz Chęciński -  Mayor of the City of Sosnowiec, Andrzej Kotala -  Mayor of the City of  Chorzów, Adam Neumann - Mayor of the City of Gliwice, Mariusz Wołosz - Mayor of the City of Bytom, Małgorzata Mańka-Szulik - Mayor of the City of Zabrze, Krzysztof Matyjaszczyk - Mayor of the City of Częstochowa and the Katowice Special Economic Zone.

Media patronage: Radio 357, ONET.PL, „Polityka", „Wiedza i Życie" , „Świat Nauki" , „Dziennik Zachodni", „Gość Niedzielny" , Antyradio , Radio Katowice, Radio eM, Radio Bielsko, Radio Express, RYBNIK.COM.PL and OX.PL.

Co-financed by the "Social Responsibility of Science" programme of the Minister of Education and Science


© Silesian University of Technology

General information clause on the processing of personal data by the Silesian University of Technology

The authors - the organizational units in which the information materials were produced, are fully responsible for the correctness, up-to-date and legal compliance with the provisions of the law. Hosted by: IT Center of the Silesian University of Technology ()

Rules for the use of "cookies" on the websites of the Silesian University of Technology

Data availability statement

„E-Politechnika Śląska - utworzenie platformy elektronicznych usług publicznych Politechniki Śląskiej”

Fundusze Europejskie
Fundusze Europejskie
Fundusze Europejskie
Fundusze Europejskie