Silesian University of Technology logo Silesian University of Technology
Go Search

Institute of Physics



Institute of Physics - Centre for Science and Education is a basic unit of Silesian University of Technology.

The history of the Institute starts with the foundation of the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics in 1969. First, the Chair of Technical Physics was founded through unification of two existing Chairs of Physics in other Faculties. The first Head of the Chair of Technical Physics was Prof. Franciszek Kuczera, PhD. The Chair provided education in physics for all engineering students at the University. In 1971, the Chair of Technical Physics was transformed into the Institute of Physics. Its first Director was Prof. Aleksander Opilski. Next Directors were Prof. Andrzej Zastawny, Prof. Zygmunt Kleszczewski and Prof. Andrzej Bluszcz, who is the present Director. The present Vice-Rector for Education, Prof. Stanisław Kochowski, is also an employee of the Institute.

The Institute employs more than 50 academic teachers and scientists, and administrative/technical staff, as well as about a dozen of PhD students. 



Institute of Physics - Centre for Science and Education

Konarskiego 22B
44-100 Gliwice

Tel.: + 48 32 2372216

Director: Professor Andrzej Bluszcz PhD, DSc

Find more information here


The International Summer School at SUT
International Staff Training Week
Admission 2019/2020
Perspektywy Ranking
European projects
ELSEVIER Awards Poland
HR Excellence in Research
Admin Rules for the use of "cookies" on the websites of the Silesian University of Technology
© Silesian University of Technology